Illinois Auto Accident Laws & Regulations
Experienced Chicago Auto Accident Attorneys
Illinois auto accidents happen all too frequently. In fact, according to the Illinois Department of Transportation, there were 281,788 motor vehicle accidents on Illinois roadways in 2011 alone, with 918 fatalities in Illinois auto accidents. More than 84,000 people were injured in Illinois motor vehicle accidents in 2011, and 135 pedestrians were killed by motor vehicles.
If you have been injured in an Illinois auto accident or you have lost a loved one in an Illinois fatal auto accident, you may be able to recover compensation in a personal injury lawsuit. But there are several Illinois auto accident laws and regulations to keep in mind. The knowledgeable Illinois auto accident attorneys at Ankin Law Office, LLC focus on representing the victims of Illinois auto accidents. We will take the time to listen to your concerns and explain Illinois auto accident laws and regulations to you so that you can make informed decisions about how to proceed with a possible personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit.
Statutes of Limitations
If you have been injured in an Illinois auto accident, there are deadlines on when you can file a personal injury lawsuit against the negligent party. If you have been injured in an Illinois auto accident, you have two years from the date of the accident to file a claim. If you suffered property damage in an Illinois auto accident, you must file a claim within five years.
Illinois auto accident laws follow the comparative negligence theory. In other words, under Illinois negligence law, you cannot recover compensation for an auto accident if you were 51% or more at fault for the auto accident. If you were less than 50%at fault, your recovery will be reduced by the percentage of your fault in the accident.
For example, if you are awarded $100,000 but the jury finds that you were 30% at fault for the accident, your recovery will be reduced by $30,000 to $70,000. Accordingly, defendants’ insurance companies will fight vigorously to prove that you were partly at fault for the accident in order to reduce the amount that they will have to pay. At Ankin Law Office, we are well-versed in the tactics of insurance companies and we will advocate on your behalf to get you a favorable recovery.
Illinois law requires all drivers to maintain at least $20,000 in insurance coverage for the death or injury of one person, $40,000 for deaths or injuries of multiple people and at least $15,000 in property damage coverage. If the negligent driver does not comply with these laws, however, you still may be able to recover from your own insurance carrier under the uninsured/underinsured motorist provisions of your auto insurance policy.
Knowledgeable Illinois Auto Accident Lawyers
The knowledgeable Illinois auto accident attorneys at Ankin Law Office, LLC focus on representing the victims of Illinois auto accidents and we are well-versed in the Illinois auto accident laws and regulations. Contact our office at (800) 442-6546 to schedule a free consultation to learn more about the applicable Illinois auto accident laws and regulations.